back and forth through my mind behind a cigarette

The iPad launched in Hong Kong a couple of hours ago. This morning, I woke up at 8am–insanely early for me–and went out to Sha Tin, a kinda out-of-the-way area in Hong Kong to buy the iPad. My reasoning was this: the area I live in, Wanchai, aka the city center, will have the worst lines. I figured Sha Tin a place with mostly old people and mountains, should be safe, right?

I get there at 9:40, 20 minutes before store opening and bam, I see this line.

This picture only shows half the line, there were at least 150 people there. Since I had work, I didn’t wait and headed to the office. I get into work and the front page of today’s SCMP…BAM.

It’s like they’re rubbing it in my face…

On a totally unrelated–but not unexpected (c’mon, this is my blog, there’s going to be basketball talk nonstop)–note. The Lakers have signed Matt Barnes, one of the toughest players in the league. So despite Lebron joining two stars, the Lakers may still be the most stacked team in the league. Kobe/Gasol/Odom/Bynum/Artest/Barnes/Fisher/Farmar/Blake is the best nine guy rotation since the 1990 Pistons or 80s Lakers. Barnes and Artest will make the Lakers the toughest perimeter defending team around.

How tough is Barnes? This is what Ron Ron wrote on his twitter:

“Matt has the heart off a lion on steroids wit extra chest hairs and three testicles screaming ” Adrian “!!!!!!”

That’s right. Matt Barnes is so tough he has the heart of a lion on steroids, extra chest hair, and three testicles, all while screaming “ADRIAN”, aka the love, inspiration, and driving force of Rocky Balboa’s life.

Meanwhile, there’s hope in NYC again. After tanking two full seasons for Lebron only to get burned, NYC is now convinced they’re getting Melo. Rumors have been swirling that Melo wants to play in the big apple. He’s free next year. And so it begins…the Summer of Melo, one year from now.

To add to this, Chris Paul apparently wants to go to NYC too. So in a year, we may have three super stacked teams (knicks, heat, lakers) all battling it out.

I say this every week but, damn, it’s a good time to be a basketball fan right now.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “back and forth through my mind behind a cigarette

  1. Haha, I understand your frustration. I have not got mine too, so I can’t even enjoy my own company’s very first iPad app. But I think I can wait until the rush dies out, so I can waltz into a shop and waltz again with a brand new iPad in my hand.

Leave a Reply

