It’s not the destination, it’s the journey

So I was googling “it’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey” (a Grateful Dead lyric that Bill Walton recited to Bill Simmons once)  because I’ve been thinking about that line lately. The googling took me to this NY Times opinion piece, and it turns out to be (almost) the greatest thing ever.

It’s a fish-out-of-water tale of an American in Beijing. It’s awesome because I was in Beijing earlier this year and this is half dead on. It’s also awesome because anytime Americans pull that “man, other countries are weird” card, it’s hilarious (and true).

And as if that’s not enough…there’s a random Michael Jordan reference, even implies he is the GOAT.

From googling a cliche lyric hoping to write an emo blog entry, I ended up with a hilarious piece about a city I visited recently and a random reference to one of my childhood idols.

This made my night. Love it.

Anyway, Bill Walton reciting Grateful Dead about selfishness and doing what you wanna do resonates with me lately. Not to mention a redheaded hippie who can’t stop grinning like Walton reciting a lyric from the Grateful Dead is just cool.

“It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

