…it makes me stronger than I thought I could be

I just watched Greenberg. I knew nothing about this going in, and it was surprising to see Ben Stiller in a reserved, serious role. I’m not a fan of Stiller, I don’t think he’s that funny (except that one scene in Anchorman when he showed up as a Mexican reporter), but man he is good here.

Seems comedians all have one serious, thought-provoking turn in them. Adam Sandler had Punch Drunk Love, Carey had Truman Show, and for Stiller, this is his equivalent.

The films about two broken people, bonding through their aimlessness, but really, are they helping or hurting each other? The ending is enigmatic, kinda happy but kinda not. It’s good stuff.

And indie soundtrack works, especially the opening as the girl is driving rough Sunset blvd, oozes Strokes style cool.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

