In Pictures

The trip to NYC was…mostly good. The sights and sounds I absorbed during my peregrination were ineffable–but I’ll try anyway: at times I felt alive and other times desolated and isolated.

To steal a quote from a friend, “the city can be lonely but its limits are boundless”.

Other highlights: the timing of some of the meetups were insane; I met the editor in chief of SLAM magazine; I visited Damon Dash’s ultra hip studio in near the east village, interviewed DDash and this mainland band he brought over to NYC. This story will be for SCMP, and I’m excited. Gonna start off talking about the clash of culture–hip hop/black culture, with Mainland Chinese postpunk rock.

And now I’m…home? Played basketball, bowled, and JJ’ed last night. Only thing left to do is drive around Huntington Drive at night listening to classic rock (will do so tonight), and an all night poker session (will do so this weekend).

After that, back to Hong Kong. And then what? I dunno. 2010 has been a roller coaster of a year–I’ve experienced the highest of highs and lowest of lows so far–and I’m kinda looking forward to it ending. Not just so I can move on, but so I can look back, know that I may never fully understand what happened, but accept it.

Here are some pictures of the Gotham trip.

I fucking love this photo. The kid and the hip brotha.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

