big yellow taxi

I went to bed at 8pm. Tried to sleep through the night, but nope–up now at 4am. I wish I could say it’s jetlag. But no, I haven’t been sleeping well for a while now.

Anyway, this is a stirring read on a late Sat night/early Sun morning.

http://blogs.suntimes.com/ebert/2010/11/all_the_lonely_people.html

In this piece, Ebert talks about how he’s never felt lonely all of his life, until a few weeks ago, when his wife was hospitalized. For the first time then, he felt loneliness, or rather–the fear of being lonely. Then he drops this final paragraph:

An illumination came into my mind, and with it the words of a song that has haunted me: Don’t it always seem to go, that you don’t know what you’ve got, till it’s gone? Perhaps I wasn’t lonely before because I didn’t have it, so it couldn’t be gone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

